Why are some people more successful than others? Part One

Warning: It is a deep topic hence I will discuss just my point of view. If you don’t agree, leave your opinion.

Amongst my siblings, I am considered really lucky. Since childhood, I always got what I wanted. I got into the top school in my city. My results weren’t good, yet I got to study the subject of my choice. I am now going abroad to study. I have plans to audition for rapping. If I need and want something, I get it. It’s somehow fascinating how my dreams never fail me. For someone who doesn’t know me, it’s basically luck. For me, it’s persistence. I am very firm of a person. If I want something, I want it. Nobody can change my mind. Somehow I end up getting most of the things I want. My demands aren’t high. I don’t want an aeroplane or jet. This made me wonder, am I really just lucky or do I do something differently than others?

Forget about me, look around you. There are celebrities who deserve to be at the epitome of success. However, there are also celebrities who reach heights of success without much talent. There are people known for good or bad deeds. There are people known for both. There are people who lead a simple life and get everything without doing much. Most people just excuse this thinking that money can buy us everything. It is true to certain extend. Money can buy you the resource. However, the individual has to make full use of the resource. That’s what differentiaties successful people from others. The usage of that resource. 

Most celebrities dream of being something big since childhood. You can often hear them saying that they always imagined such a lifestyle. Some were lucky they got what they wanted. Some had to struggle. The desire to want is really important. If you want something, you can get it. The only thing you have to do is really want. When you set your mind on something, you automatically do things to achieve it. If you aren’t driven by yourself, then comes the role of relatives. If you have someone in your life who can help you open up your eyes to opportunities, you are lucky. I came across this saying few months back. It said,” Imagine yourself having what you want. Imagine being with it. Once you set your mind on having it, your brain processes the information naturally and makes you work for it. The path may be uncertain but the result isn’t. You will get what you want.”

When I was looking for tips for audition, I came across another article which stated that most recruiters look for “people who have that spark in their eyes. You can look at them at once and know they are genuinely interested and capable.” At first it may sound strange. Spark in their eyes!? The more you think of it, the more it makes sense. When you really want something, it shows in your face. You know like when a kid wants a toy and his/her parents can guess at once. 

There is another factor too. Nomatter how harsh this may sound. You also have to present yourself better. You may not look really good but if you present yourself as confident, it shows. This is what matters in the end. Specially with the new age, everyone is over qualified. However, only those who stand out makes the cut. To stand out you just need a good way of presenting yourself. The world has become an auction place and you are the item waiting to be sold (in a good sense ofcourse). Until and unless you polish yourself, you won’t be able to stand out. Everyone thinks they are unique, which is true. However, someone giving you a job won’t guess that out in first instance until and unless you show them that side.

Leave a Reply

